Panthers Official Sponsor

Boys Junior Varsity Baseball, Boys Varsity Baseball · Panthers Earn All-Region Honors

Five Lake City baseball players and Head Coach Matt Apicella received All-Region VI-AAA honors for the 2017 season.

Senior Vince “Bill” Hanna hit .386 with 34 hits including five doubles and two triples while driving in 13 runs.  The swift-footed shortstop also scored 28 runs and swiped 34 bases.  Hanna will be playing in the SCBCA North-South All-Star game and was named to the 2017 SCBCA AAA All-State Team.

Nate Bright turned in a tremendous senior season hitting .400 with 36 hits including six doubles and two triples while scoring 22 runs.  Bright also stole 26 bases and drove in 28 runs.  On the mound, he was 8-1, including three shutouts, with three Saves.  Bright struck out 53 hitters in 62.2 innings pitched while posting a 1.01 ERA.  He was also named to the 2017 SCBCA AAA All-State Team

Leadoff hitter and centerfielder Jalen Barr led the team with a .414 average and 41 hits including five doubles, two triples, and five homeruns.  Barr drove in 12 runs, scored 33 runs, and stole 33 bases. He will also be participating in SCBCA North-South All-Star game.  Barr and was named to the 2017 SCBCA AAA All-State Team

Molik Brown, a four-year starter at catcher, turned in an impressive senior season hitting .312 with 24 hits including four doubles, four triples, and one homerun while driving in 16 runs. Brown also stole 24 bags and scored 28 runs.  Defensively, Brown gunned down 60% of opponent’s steal attempts.

Senior Keenan Graham posted a 6-1 record on the mound in 2017.  The righthander struck out 28 hitters in 49.1 innings pitched while posting a 2.74 ERA.  Offensively, Graham drove in eight runs and posted a .424 on-base-percentage.

Head Coach Matt Apicella was named as the Region-VI-AAA Co-Coach of the Year for leading the Panthers to a 23-8 overall record including the Region VI Co-Championship and the District VIII championship.  Apicella was previously named Region Coach of the Year in 2011.


Matt Apicella