Panthers Official Sponsor

Panthers News · Panthers Recognize Outstanding Student-Athletes

Lake City High School recognized its outstanding student-athletes Wednesday during its annual athletic awards banquet.

Malan Wilson and Jalen Barr were named recipients of the Herb Rollins Award, presented to the best overall male and female athletes.

Amber Keefe and Barr received the June Coleman Academic Award, given to the best overall male and female athletes who exhibit the academic excellence expected from a student-athlete at Lake City High School.

Emerald McKnight and Vince “Bill” Hanna were presented with the Dr. Lane Floyd Leadership Award, given to the male and female student-athletes who best display the essential qualities of leadership in all areas.

Hal Edwards, a 1993 graduate of Lake City High who was a consensus All-State baseball player for the Panthers and played college baseball at Coker College where he was named an Honorable Mention All-American in 1997, delivered the keynote address. Edwards emphasized the investment student-athletes are required to make both in the classroom and in their chosen sports. He encouraged them to continue investing in themselves through hard work and investing in their communities.

Other award recipients during the banquet included:

Varsity Boys Cross Country: Felix Lazo (Most Valuable Runner), Desmond Lee (Most Improved Runner), Damien Lee (Leadership Award) and Gerard Williams (Coach’s Award).

Varsity Girls Cross Country: Joycelyn Epps (Most Valuable Runner), Jasmine Nesmith (Most Improved Runner) and Jasmine Bradley (Leadership Award).

Varsity Football: Tyrese McCray (Offensive Lineman Award), Jalen Barr (Offensive Skill Award), Justin Clary (Defensive Lineman Award), Terquan Rush (Defensive Skill Award), Tyshawn Baines (Special Teams Award) and Christopher Burnett (MVP Award).

JV Football: Austin Montgomery and Nicholas Jones (Offensive MVP) and Shane McKenzie and Malique Whitten (Defensive MVP).

Varsity Volleyball: Malan Wilson (MVP Award), Destiny Croker (Rookie of the Year) and Amber Keefe (Panther Award).

JV Volleyball: Kourtney Cox (Offensive Award), Iyanna Davis (Defensive Award) and Zyria Cameron (Best All-Around).

Boys’ Varsity Basketball: Tyrek Epps (MVP Award), Tyshawn Baines (MVP Defense), Raekwon Hailey (Most Improved), Eric Kennedy (Coach’s Award) and Jawaun McDowell (Coach’s Award).

JV Boys’ Basketball: Malik Hailey (MVP Award), Nick Jones (Most Improved) and Keith Rose (Defensive MVP).

Girls’ Varsity Basketball: Dyesha Lee (Best Offensive Player), Joycelyn Epps (Best Defensive Player) and Alexis Brayboy (Panther Award).

JV Girls’ Basketball: Joneisha Alford (Best Offense), Iyana Davis (Best Defensive Player), Tashanti Graham (Best Defensive Player) and Shiandi Fitzpatrick (Coach’s Award).

Wrestling: Damien Lee (Rookie of the Year), Keenan Graham (Wrestler of the Year) and Everett Sanders (Most Pins).

Varsity Baseball: Nate Bright (Pitcher of the Year), Jalen Barr (Best Hitter), Demarion Johnson (Best Defense), Bill Hanna (Sparkplug Award), Molik Brown (Sparkplug Award) and Keenan Graham (Coaches Award).

JV Baseball: Wesley Hanner (Pitcher of the Year) and Ja’Keim Herring (Hitter of the Year).

Varsity Softball: Malan Wilson (Best Defensive Player), Brianna VanHoose (Panther Award), Amber Keefe (Panther Award), Catelynn Owens (Rookie of the Year) and Kourtney Cox (Best Offensive Player).

JV Softball: Parish Montgomery (MVP), X’Zerrya Clark (Defensive MVP) and Raven Cokley (Offensive MVP).

Varsity Boys’ Soccer: Bryant Solis (One Team Award), Felix Lazo (Leadership Award), Nyquan Pressley (All Heart Award) and Bryant Solis (Give Back Award).

JV Boys’ Soccer: Irvin Fajardo (Most Valuable Player), Dre’Quez McFadden (Most Improved Player) and Fermin Lopez (Coach’s Award).

Varsity Girls’ Soccer: Jasmine Nesmith (One Team Award), Keyara Thomas (Leadership Award), Mercedes Sheeder (All Heart Award) and Elantryia Moore (MVP).

JV Girls’ Soccer: Crystal Toledo (Offensive MVP), Cassidy Thomas (Defensive MVP) and Alaysia Nelson (Team Captain Award).

Boys’ Track: Tyshawn Baines (MVP), Jalen Barr and Dayquan Washington (Best in Track) and Shakel Washington (Best in Field).

Girls’ Track: Tysahra Elmore (Best in Track) and Dyesha Lee (Best in Field).

Varsity Cheer: Kimbreuna Wilson (Rookie Award), Natalya Salters (Cheer is Life Award),Ova Burgess (Panther Pride Award) and Emerald McKnight (Outstanding Leadership Award).

JV Cheer: Kimani Ross (Cheer is Life), Ky-Shara Wilson (Leadership Award), Damara Brown (Panther Pride Award), Da’Ziah Johnson-Pendergrass (Rookie of the Year) and Marissa English (Best All Around).

Triple Threat Award: (presented to student-athletes who lettered in three sports during the school year) Tyshawn Baines, Jalen Barr, Chris Burnett, Justin Clary, Tyshara Elmore, Joycelyn Epps, Graham Follin, Tyzai Gaskins, Keenan Graham, Vince “Bill” Hanna, Damien Lee, Desmond Lee, Dyesha Lee, Daniel Malasky, Parish Montgomery, Terquan Rush, Paris Turner and Shakel Washington.

2016-17 All Region VII-AAA:

Football:  Tyshawn Baines, Jalen Barr, Molik Brown, Chris Burnett, Justin Clary, Tyrese McCray and Terquan Rush.

Cross Country: Joycelyn Epps.

Volleyball: Malan Wilson.

Girls Basketball: Dyesha Lee.

Boys Basketball:  Tyshawn Baines and Tyrek Epps.

Wrestling:  Keenan Graham, Everett Sanders, Justin Clary and Antonio Skipper.

Baseball:  Vence “Bill” Hanna, Nate Bright, Keenan Graham, Molik Brown and Jalen Barr

Softball: Malan Wilson.

Boys Soccer:  Felix Lazo

Girls Soccer: Elantriya Moore, Joycelyn Epps, Cortney McFadden and Giselle Toledo.

Boys Track: Jalen Barr, Jovan McMillian, Justin Clary and Tyshawn Baines.

B30A0409 B30A0412 B30A0413 B30A0415 B30A0416 B30A0417 B30A0419 B30A0420 B30A0426 B30A0427 B30A0429 B30A0431 B30A0372 B30A0373 B30A0375 B30A0378 B30A0379 B30A0380 B30A0381 B30A0384 B30A0385 B30A0387 B30A0390 B30A0392 B30A0393 B30A0395 B30A0398 B30A0401 B30A0402 B30A0404 B30A0407 B30A0408