Panthers News · Panthers Recognize Outstanding Student-Athletes

Lake City High School recognized its outstanding student-athletes for the 2017-2018 school year during the school’s annual athletic awards banquet on May 15.

Gilleon Frieson, a 1995 graduate of LCHS and Lake City Chief Municipal Judge, was the guest speaker. Judge Frieson spoke of his experiences as a student-athlete and stressed the importance of perseverance in the face of adversity.

Athletes from each sport were recognized for outstanding achievement. Award recipients were:

2017-18 June Coleman Academic Award

Presented to the best overall athlete that exhibits the academic excellence expected of a student-athlete at Lake City High School

Recipients:  Daniel Malasky and Keyara Thomas

2017-18 Herb Rollins Award

Presented to the top overall athlete at Lake City High School

Recipients:  Chris Burnett and Joycelyn Epps

2017-18 Dr. Lane Floyd Leadership Award

Presented to the student-athlete who best displays  the essential qualities of leadership in all areas

Recipients:  Keyara Thomas, Melvon Cooper and Marquese Butler

Varsity Boys Cross Country

Most Valuable Runner: Damien Lee

Most Improved Runner: Desmond Lee

Coach’s Award: Davion Graham

Varsity Girls Cross Country

Most Valuable Runner: Jocelyn Epps

Most Improved Runner: Nicole Hammond

Coach’s Award: Jasmine Bradley

Varsity Football

Offensive Lineman Award: Natorious Darby

Offensive Skill Award: Nicholas Jones

Defensive Lineman Award: Darius Gamble

Defensive Skill Award: Darien Fulton

Special Teams Award: Nigel Gaskins

Career Award: Chris Burnett

JV Football

MVP: Shaquan Epps and Sheldon Burgess

Varsity Volleyball

Most Valuable Player: Taylor Atkinson

Most Improved: Zaria Cameron

Panther Award: Destiney Croker

JV Volleyball

Most Improved: Alyssa Matthews

Panther Award: Jada Dickson

Boy’s Varsity Basketball

Raekwon Hailey: MVP

Eric Kennedy: MVP Offense

TyQuavious Smith: MVP Defense

Justin Johnson: MVP Defense

Ji’travious Sherrills-Newcomer Award

JV Boy’s Basketball

Offensive MVP: Malik Hailey

Defensive MVP: Keith Rose

Girl’ Varsity Basketball

Best Offense: Elantryia Moore

Most Improved: Tierra Burgess

Panther Award: Jaziah Eaddy

Best Defense: Joycelyn Epps

JV Girl’s Basketball

Panther Award: Shanice Tindall


Rookie of the Year-Dayquan Washington

Most Improve-Tyzai Gaskins

Most Pins-Antonio Skipper

Never Quit -Daniel Malasky

Varsity Baseball

Pitcher of the Year: Chris Burnett

Best Hitter:  Hilshon Bailey

Best Defense:  E.J. McClam

Sparkplug Award:  Shamontae Burgess

JV Baseball

Best Defense: Trey Bright

Best Hitter:  Xavier Baker

Varsity Softball

Best Offensive Player: Kourtney Cox

Panther Award: Catelynn Owens

JV Softball

Coaches  Award: Jada Dickson

Most Improved: Alissa Matthews

Varsity Boys Soccer

One Team: Daronde Brown

Leadership: Daniel Malasky

All Heart: Zykeime Porter

JV Boys Soccer

One Team: Levi Perez

Leadership: Alexis Rodriguez

All Heart: Ethan Locklair

Varsity Girls Soccer

One Team: Alaysia Nelson

Leadership: Kameron Whitten

All Heart: Andrea Solis

MVP: Elantryia Moore

JV Girls Soccer

Offensive Most Improved: Emily Rogers

Defensive Most Improved: Sabrina Bonilla Perez

Boys Track

Rookie of the Year: James Peterson

Most Improved: Luke Wallace, Savion Player

Best in Track: Dayquan Washington

MVP: Shakell Washington

Girls Track

Rookie of the Year: Reyna Herrera

Most Improved: Jazlyn Green

Best in Track: Malaysia Epps

MVP: Lasira Nicholson

Varsity Cheer

Rookie of the Year:  Shadrea McKnight

Proud to be a Panther: Marissa English

Cheer is Life: Da’Mara Brown and Kimani Ross

Coach Award: Briyanna Owens

JV Cheer

Coaches Award: Haley Sellers

Most Improved: Makala  McClam

Leadership Award: Kailah Hanna

Triple Threat Award

Presented to student-athletes who letter in at least three sports during the school year.

Daronde Brown, Chris Burnett, Clint Caldwell, Xzerrya Clark, Melvon Cooper, Gerardo Corea, Jada Dickson, Joycelyn Epps, Tyzai Gaskins, Jazlyn Green, Malik Hailey, Joshua Jones, Damien Lee, Desmond Lee, Daniel Malasky, Parish Montgomery, Briyanna Owens, Caitlyn Owens, Keith Rose, Jitravious Sherrills, Dayquan Washington and Daimen Wilson

2017-18 All Region VII-AAA

Football:  Chris Burnett, Natorious Darby, Darien Fulton

Cross Country: Damien Lee

Volleyball: Taylor Atkinson

Girls Basketball: Elantryia Moore

Boys Basketball:  JiTravious Sherrills, Eric Kennedy, Raekwon Hailey

Wrestling:  Everett Sanders, Dayquan Washington, Antonio Skipper, Tyzai Gaskins

Baseball:  Chris Burnett, Hilshon Bailey, Shamontae Burgess

Softball: Kourtney Cox

Boys Soccer:  Irvin Fajardo

Girls Soccer:  Elantryia Moore

Boys Track: Arkus Sabb