Panthers News · LCHS Recognizes Student-Athletes

Lake City High School recognized its outstanding student-athletes for the 2017-2018 school year during the school’s annual athletic awards banquet on May 15.

De’Charles Burgess, a 2011 LCHS graduate and the student director at The Summit Church in Raleigh, NC, was the keynote speaker. Burgess spoke to the student-athletes, parents and others in attendance about the importance of leadership.

“Leadership is the key to success,” he said. “It’s not skill or talent.”

Burgess talked about two of his high school teammates. One, he said, a vocal leader, while the other, who wasn’t one of the best players on the team, led by working hard and always giving 100 percent.

“You don’t have to be the best player on the field or the smartest person in the class to be a leader,” he added. “Leaders care about those around them. A good leader doesn’t look around and ask who is going to lead. A good leader steps up and leads by words and actions.”

Athletes from each sport were recognized for outstanding achievement. Award recipients were:

2018-19 June Coleman Academic Award

Presented to the best overall athlete that exhibits the academic excellence expected from a

Student:Athlete at Lake City High School

Winners: Alana Fulmore, Christian Hanna

2018-19 Herb Rollins Award

Presented to the top overall athlete at Lake City High School

Winners: Taylor Atkinson, Damien Lee

2018-19 Dr. Lane Floyd Leadership Award

Presented to the student-athlete who best displays the essential qualities of leadership in all areas

Winners: Catelynn Owens, Shane McKenzie, Clint Caldwell

Varsity Boys Cross Country

Most Valuable Runner: Damien Lee

Most Improved Runner: Caleb Wallace

Coach’s Award: Austin Shake

Varsity Girls Cross Country

Most Valuable Runner: X´zerrya Clark

Most Improved Runner: Allison Quintero

Coach’s Award: Jasmine Bradley

Varsity Football

Offensive Lineman Award: Clint Caldwell

Offensive Skill Award: Avery Harrison

Defensive Lineman Award: Darius Gamble

Defensive Skill Award: Shane McKenzie

Special Teams Award: Shamonte Burgess

2018-2019 MVP: Savion Player

JV Football

2018-19 MVP: Jamaurion Franklin

Offensive MVP: Daimen Wilson

Defensive MVP: Tyrik Harris

Varsity Volleyball

Best All-Around: Alana Fulmore

Most Improved: Zaria Cameron

Most Spirit: Morgan McCutcheon

Leadership: Frances Singletary

JV Volleyball

Coach’s Award: Mari’Ana Smith

Most Dependable: Carolyn Shaw

Boy’s Varsity Basketball

Malik Hailey: Most Valuable Player

Stephfon Rose: Best Offensive Player

Hilshon Bailey: Best All-Around Player

Justin Johnson: Best Defensive Player

JV Boy’s Basketball

Shamontae Burgess: Best Offense

Cam’Ron Butler: Best Defense

Girl’ Varsity Basketball

Best Offense: Jada Dickson

Best Defense: Xzerrya Clark
Panther Award: Alexis Brayboy

JV Girl’s Basketball

Kyeisha Black: Most Improved

Arianna Barr: Panther Award


Most Improved: Corea Gerardo

Rookie of the Year: Cam’Ron Butler, Antonio Lopez

All Heart Award: Khalil Carter:Hayes

MVP: Antonio Skipper

Varsity Baseball

Pitcher of the Year: Jakeim Herring

Best Hitter: Hilshon Bailey

Best Defense: E.J. McClam

Sparkplug Award: Shikeim Washington

JV Baseball

MVP: Mykel Croker

Offensive MVP: Jerrell Nesbitt

Varsity Softball

MVP: Catelynn Owens

Best Defense: Xzerrya Clark ​

JV Softball

Panther Award: Kellie Strickland

Panther Award: Israel Cleveland ​

Varsity Boys Soccer

One Team: Irvin Fajardo

All Heart: Hillario Rivera-Toledo

Leadership: Matthew Leiter

JV Boys Soccer

Most Improved: Javon Jackson

Most Spirited: Ricky Antwine

Varsity Girls Soccer

One Team: Sarah Leiter

Leadership: Dianna Lopez

Leadership: Camryn Brown

All Heart: Kara Whitten​

JV Girls Soccer

MVP:Tybriajia Brown​

Most Improved Player: ​Tykierra Graham​

Boys Track

The Anchor Award: Daquan Washington
The Field General Award: Clint Caldwell
Rookie of the Year Award: Demaray Skipper
Best All-Around: James Peterson

Girls Track

Rookie of the Year: Jada Montgomery

Leadership: Briyanna Owens

Best Sprinter:­ Lasira Nicholson

Best All-Around: Malaysia Epps

Varsity Cheer

Rookie of Year: Acacia Johnson

Coaches Award: Daziah Johnson-Pendergrass

Leadership Award: Shadrea McKnight

Cheer is Life: Marissa English

Panther Pride: Kimani Ross

JV Cheer

Outstanding Leadership: Kailah Hanna

Most Improved: Kayla Fulmore

Coaches Award: Jakiry Jones ​

Triple Threat Award

Cleadieais Alston

Hilshon Bailey

Christopher Barr

Shamontae Burgess

Camron Butler

Clint Caldwell

Khalil Carter-Hayes

X’zerrya Clark

Gerardo Corea

Darius Gamble

Jermaine Graham

Tyriq Harris

Juwan Howard

Damien Rolly Lee

Antonio Lopez

Arnoldo Lopez

Bryce McIntosh

Caydence Nero

Briyanna Owens

Deandre Taylor

Dayquan Washington

2018-19 All-Region VII-AAA

Football: Shamontae Burgess, Darius Gamble, Shane McKenzie, Savion Player

Cross Country: Damien Lee, Irvin Fajardo

Volleyball: Taylor Atkinson

Girls Basketball: Jada Dickson

Boys Basketball: Hilshon Bailey, Malik Hailey, Stephfon Rose

Wrestling: Gerardo Corea, Darius Gamble, Damien Lee, Antonio Skipper, Dayquan Washington

Baseball: Hilshon Bailey

Softball: Catelynn Owens

Boys Soccer: Hilario Rivera:Toledo, Irvin Fajardo, DeJuanya Washington, Chandler Gause

Fermin Lopez

Girls Soccer: Andrea Solis, Sara Leiter, Kara Whitten, Camryn Brown

Boys Track: Dayquan Washington, Tyzai Gaskins, Demoray Skipper, James Peterson, Arkus Sabb, Clint Caldwell

Girls Track: Jada Montgomery, Nevaeh Scott